breedstandard1a.jpg
JAI2.PNG

معيار سلالة أكيتينو اليابانية AKC

معيار السلالة في عالم الكلاب هو عبارة عن مجموعة من الإرشادات التي يتم استخدامها للتأكد من أن الحيوانات التي ينتجها المربي تتوافق مع مواصفات السلالة المعيارية. يتم وضع معايير السلالة من قبل جمعيات السلالات أو نوادي السلالات ، وليس من قبل الأفراد ، وتتم كتابتها لتعكس استخدام أو الغرض من نوع وسلالة الحيوان.

تساعد معايير السلالة على تحديد العينة المثالية للسلالة وتوفر أهدافًا للمربين في تحسين المخزون. في جوهرها ، يعتبر معيار السلالة مخططًا لحيوان مناسب للوظيفة التي تم تربيتها - مثل الرعي والحراسة والتتبع وما إلى ذلك.

كنت محظوظًا بما يكفي لأن طُلب مني المساهمة في جهد تعاوني دولي لتصميم وثيقة "دليل سريع" مرئي للقضاة. تمت دعوة مربو تربية الحيوانات من أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا واليابان لمشاركة معارفهم وتقديم نظرة ثاقبة حول ما يجب أن يكون ذا أولوية للدليل.

أود أن أشكر شخصيًا جينا تشوي ونادي أكيتا الأمريكي الياباني (JACA) لإتاحة الفرصة لي لمشاركة عملنا معك. لقد كان شرفًا كبيرًا أن أكون جزءًا من هذا المشروع الفريد الذي أثبت أنه فكرة شائعة للغاية بين عالم عروض الكلاب.

AKC_Seal_1884_blue_wR.jpg

معايير السلالة ليست وثائق علمية ، وقد تختلف من جمعية إلى أخرى ، ومن بلد إلى آخر. هذا هو الاهتمام مع Akitainu الياباني. اعتمادًا على أي جزء من العالم أنت فيه ، سيلتزم المربون بمعايير السلالات المختلفة التي يمكن العثور عليها أدناه. على سبيل المثال ، في اليابان ، تم تعيين معيار سلالة Akitainu الياباني بواسطة AKIHO. في أوروبا ، تم تعيينه بواسطة FCI (Federation Cynologique Internationale) وفي الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، لدينا معايير سلالة التسجيل AKC و UKC. نظرًا لأن مقرنا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، يوجد أدناه تفصيل لمعايير سلالات AKC و UKC الخاصة بـ Akitainu اليابانية جنبًا إلى جنب مع ارتباط بمعيار سلالة FCI Akita. إن وظيفتي بصفتي قاضيًا للتشكيل هي تفسير معيار التكاثر للسجل الذي أحكم عليه وتطبيقه على أمثلة السلالة التي تظهر في يوم العرض. تعد عروض الكلاب بمثابة دليل رائع للمربين للتأكد من أنهم على الطريق الصحيح لتطوير كلابهم.

المظهر العام: يعتبر Akitainu الياباني أكبر سلالات الكلاب المحلية في اليابان وكان يستخدم في الأصل في لعبة الصيد في التضاريس الجبلية بمنطقة Tōhoku حيث تقع محافظة Akita. يعتبر Akitainu الياباني كلبًا كبيرًا ومتينًا ومتوازنًا جيدًا من نوع Spitz والذي يحدد رأسه ومعطفه الثلاثي وذيله الملتوي السمات الجسدية لهذه السلالة الفريدة. من الواضح أن الذكور والإناث يمكن تمييزهم عن بعضهم البعض حيث يمتلك الذكور بنية جسم أكثر قوة وملامح وجه ذكورية ، والإناث ، وهيكل جسم أكثر دقة وملامح وجه أنثوية.

يتم عرض Akitainu الياباني المعتدل الزاوية بشكل طبيعي دون تقليم الشعيرات أو التصميم أو تحسينات اللون.

الحجم والنسبة والجوهر: ذكور 25 إلى 27 بوصة عند الذبول ؛ الإناث من 22 إلى 25 بوصة عند الذراعين. الحجم المفضل هو منتصف النطاق لكل جنس. الوزن بالحجم المفضل هو حوالي 65-75 رطلاً للذكور ، 55-65 رطلاً للإناث. تبلغ نسبة الطول إلى الطول للذكور 10 إلى 11 ؛ الإناث لها طول جسم أطول قليلاً. العظام معتدلة.

عدم الأهلية - ذكور أقل من 25 بوصة ؛ الإناث أقل من 22 بوصة.

الرأس: التعبير يقظ وحيوي ومكثف. شكل الرأس مثمن مستدير قليلاً عند النظر إليه من الأمام. ويدعم هذا الشكل امتلاء الخدين ، وكذلك المعطف الموجود على الخدين والرقبة. العيون بنية داكنة ، عميقة الشكل ، لوزية الشكل ، صغيرة نسبيًا ، ومرتفعة قليلاً في الزوايا الخارجية. حواف العين سميكة وسوداء. يجب ألا تظهر العينان متقاربتين جدًا أو متباعدتين جدًا عيوب - عيون مستديرة. قزحية ملونة فاتحة. جنوط عين فاتحة اللون. حواف العين متدلية أو فضفاضة. الآذان واسعة ، مثلثة الشكل ، مثقوبة ، صغيرة الحجم نوعا ما ، ومقورة إلى حد ما عند الطرف. الجلد سميك ومقبض قليلاً. آذان بزاوية للأمام من مؤخرة الرأس والوجه. من عرض الملف الشخصي ، تكون الآذان المائلة للأمام بزاوية 75 إلى 90 درجة إلى خط مرسوم على طول جسر الكمامة.

فقدان الأهلية - سقوط الأذن أو الأذنين.

حجم الجمجمة معتدل ومتناسب مع الجسم. الجبهة عريضة ومسطحة ، ويفضل أن يكون لها ثلم مميز يمتد من نقطة التوقف إلى أعلى الجمجمة. التوقف معتدل. عيب - تجعد أو ترهل الجلد على الجبهة. الكمامة مستديرة وممتلئة ومعتدلة الطول وقاعدة عريضة تتجه نحو الأنف. يبلغ طول الكمامة 40 بالمائة من إجمالي طول الرأس من القفا إلى طرف الأنف. ويفضل أن تبقى الشعيرات سليمة. خطأ - كمامة ضيقة أو ثقيلة للغاية. الشفاه مشدودة وسوداء. عيب - شفاه فضفاضة مترهلة. الأنف أسود. بالنسبة للكلاب البيضاء ، من المقبول أنوف سوداء وثلجية باهتة. يفضل الأسود دائمًا. عدم الأهلية - أنف الفراشة. العضة هي مقص ، مع مجموعة كاملة من الأسنان القوية ، الكبيرة ، المحاذاة بشكل متساوٍ. خطأ - أسنان مفقودة ، أسنان غير صحية. اللسان وردي. عيب - لسان أسود أو منقط.

تنحية - لدغة تجاوز أو عجز.

الرقبة / الخط العلوي / الجسم: الرقبة قصيرة وسميكة ومقوسة وفي زاوية مناسبة ومتوازنة مع الرأس. عيب - Dewlap أو الجلد المترهل على الرقبة. Topline مستقيمة ومستوية حتى قاعدة الذيل. عضلات الجسم جيدة دون ظهور رخاوة أو خشونة. الصدر متطور يصل إلى المرفق. العرض ليس ضيقًا جدًا ولا واسعًا جدًا ؛ يُقاس العمق من الكتفين إلى أدنى نقطة في الصدر بحوالي 50 بالمائة من ارتفاع الكلب عند الكتفين. تنتشر الضلوع بشكل معتدل. الثنية مشدودة ومرسومة جيدًا. الظهر قوي ومستوي. الخاصرة عضلية.

الذيل: مجموعة عالية مع جذر قوي وسميك مجعد جيدًا على الظهر. يجب أن يكون حجم الذيل المجعد متوازناً مع الرأس. يشكل تجعيد الذيل المثالي دائرة شبه كاملة. عند النزول ، يصل طرف شعيرات الواقي على الذيل تقريبًا [HF4] إلى العرقوب أو يمتد إلى الماضي. تجعيد الشعر التالي مقبول: تجعيد فردي ومزدوج. قد يقع الذيل على قمة الظهر أو على أي من الجانبين. خطأ - ذيل قصير.

عدم الأهلية - الذيل المنجلي أو الذيل غير المجعد (أثناء حركة الكلب ، وليس في حالة الراحة).

الجزء الأمامي: الكتفين مائلان إلى الأمام بشكل معتدل ومتطوران بشكل جيد. العظام الكافية أو المعتدلة ضرورية. يتم تثبيت المرفقين بالقرب من الجسم ولا يتحولان إلى الداخل أو الخارج. الأرجل الأمامية والأقدام متباعدة بشكل معتدل ومستقيمة ومتوازية. تميل الباسترن قليلاً مع 15 درجة لتكون مثالية. يفضل وجود مخالب الندى الأمامي ، لكن ليس ضروريًا. القدمان مستديرة ، وضيقة ، ومفصلية جيدًا ، ولها قبضة قوية ، وغالبًا ما توصف بأنها تشبه القطة. أصابع القدم الفردية متشابهة في الطول. يجب أن تكون الأظافر قصيرة وقوية. الفوط سميكة. خطأ - قدم مسطحة أو مفلطحة.

الخلف: التزاوي في الخلف معتدل. الأرجل الخلفية سميكة ومتطورة ، مع قبضة قوية ، ودفع. والموقف. تم تطوير الفخذين بشكل جيد. الخراطيم مستقيمة عند النظر إليها من الجانب والخلف. الأقدام مثل الأرباع الأمامية. خطأ - خراطيم بقرة أو قوس.

معطف: ثلاث طبقات مغطاة بطبقة خارجية تتكون من شعيرات واقية خشنة ومستقيمة تقف خارج الجسم. المعطفان الداخليان تحت المعاطف. أحدهما أكثر سمكا ونعومة إلى حد ما ، ويتطابق بشكل عام مع لون المعطف. والثاني هو الأقرب للجلد وعادة ما يكون أكثر سمكًا وشبيهًا بالصوف ويمكن أن يكون لونه مختلفًا عن معطف الحماية. شعر واقي الذيل أطول وأكثر كثافة. يجب تقديم Akitainu الياباني في حالة طبيعية دون تقليم أو تشكيل. خطأ - معطف قصير مسطح. تنحية - معطف طويل.

اللون: لون المعطف هو كما هو محدد هنا ، مع مراعاة الألوان الثلاثة المسموح بها - الأحمر ، الرمادي الداكن (بألوان مختلفة) والأبيض. كل الألوان غنية وواضحة ومشرقة. يجب أن تحتوي المعاطف الحمراء والدائرية على urajiro (كريم فاتح أو تظليل أبيض أسفل الجانب).

بالنسبة للأحمر ، يجب أن يكون اللون حيويًا وقويًا. يجب ألا يكون بياض الوجه مفرطًا. Omotejiro هو التظليل الأبيض أو الكريمي الموجود على جانبي الكمامة والخدين. قد يظهر Urajiro على الجانب السفلي من الفك والرقبة والبطن والذيل ، وداخل الساقين ؛ سوف يتلاشى اللون الأحمر على الساقين بالتدرج إلى الأبيض. يفضل الذيل الأبيض. خطأ خطير - السرج الأسود.

بالنسبة للأشكال الداكنة ، يتم تعريف النمط على أنه خطوط أو خطوط رفيعة داكنة واضحة المعالم موضوعة فوق لون خلفية أفتح. يتم التعرف على معطف الدببة على أنه أحمر داكن (بدرجات متفاوتة) ، أو رمادي داكن ، أو نوع فرعي يسمى شيموفوري (رمادي / فضي). قد تكون Brindles ملثمين ذاتيًا أو بها حريق أبيض يمتد حتى الكمامة. يمتلك الدببة المفضلة roppaku (ست نقاط من العلامات البيضاء) والتي قد تكون بدرجات متفاوتة ، على الكمامة ، وأربعة أقدام ، وطرف الذيل. قد يظهر Urajiro for brindles على الجانب السفلي من الفك والرقبة والبطن والذيل وداخل الساقين.

للأحمر والرمادي الداكن - العيوب - حريق أبيض يمتد من الكمامة إلى مؤخرة الرأس (hachiware). دقات مفرطة في الساقين أو كمامة. خطأ خطير - علامة عريضة ذات ياقة بيضاء تمتد بالكامل حول الرقبة.

تنحية - علامات بينتو. حريق Hachiware الذي يتصل بياقة بيضاء كاملة.

بالنسبة للبيض ، يجب أن يكون اللون ساطعًا قدر الإمكان. خطأ - تلوين البسكويت على الأذنين ، الأرجل الخلفية ، الظهر ، الكتفين والذيل على كلب أبيض. تنحية جميع الألوان - المهق. قناع أسود.

المشي: ينقل القدرة على التحمل من خلال حركة سريعة وقوية ورشيقة. تتخذ الكلاب من هذا الصنف خطوات فعالة ، مع وصول معتدل وقيادة بينما يظل الظهر مستويًا.

طبع: أكيتينو الياباني هو سلالة يقظة ومستقلة وكريمة وثقة بالنفس. هم مخلصون ويحميون أفراد أسرهم. يمكن أن تكون محجوزة ومعزولة حول أفراد من خارج العائلة ، وخاصة الغرباء ، وقد يكون البعض غير متسامح مع الكلاب الأخرى ، وخاصة الكلاب من نفس الجنس. يعكس المظهر الخارجي لـ Akitainu الياباني روحه الداخلية من الهدوء والقوة الهادئة والشجاعة. عدم الأهلية - الخجل الشديد أو العدوانية.

ملخص: أهم خصائص السلالة اليابانية Akitainu هي: الرأس المناسب ، والطبقة الثلاثية ، والذيل الملتوي ، والزوايا المعتدلة ، والعظام المعتدلة ، والنسب المتوازنة ، والتصرف الواثق. يجب معاقبة أي مظهر مفرط أو غير مناسب للعظام أو الوزن من شأنه أن يعيق وظيفة السلالة الأصلية لصيد الجبال. يجب أن يكون الشكل واللون والحركة والمزاج في وئام.

فقدان الأهلية: الذكور أقل من 25 بوصة ؛ الإناث أقل من 22 بوصة. سقوط الأذن أو الأذنين. أنف الفراشة. لدغة تجاوز أو عجز. الذيل المنجلي أو الذيل غير المجعد (عند الحركة). معطف طويل. بالنسبة للأحمر والرمادي الداكن - علامات Pinto ، Hachiware Blaze الذي يتصل بطوق أبيض كامل. لجميع الألوان - المهق ، القناع الأسود. الخجل الشديد أو العدوانية.

معيار سلالة أكيتا اليابانية UKC

المظهر العام : كلب كبير ، متوازن ، قوي البنية من نوع سبيتز.

من الواضح أن الذكور والإناث يمكن تمييزهم عن بعضهم البعض.

نسبة الطول (من نقطة الكتف إلى نقطة الأرداف) أكبر قليلاً من الارتفاع (تقاس عند الكتفين). الإناث أطول قليلاً. مع كون الذكور أكثر تربيعًا.

عدم الأهلية: تشفير أحادي أو ثنائي. الشراسة أو الخجل الشديد.

عيوب خطيرة: حالة سيئة بشكل عام. الجلد المترهل.

download.png
JA.PNG
JAI3.PNG

الخصائص : تُعرف أكيتا اليابانية بأنها سلالة كريمة وسريعة ورشيقة. التوازن العام مهم جدا.

يحدد لون المعطف المذهل وأنماط ألوان المعطف والأذنين المائلان وشكل العين واللون العميق للقزحية المظهر الغريب لهذا الصنف.

أكيتا اليابانية مستقلة وذكية وسهلة الانقياد. كما أنها محجوزة ، خاصةً حول الغرباء ، مما قد يعطي انطباعًا عن العزلة. إنهم مخلصون ويحميون أفراد أسرته بدرجة عالية.

الرأس : الرأس متناسب مع الجسم. الجلد مشدود وغير متجعد. عند النظر إليه من الأمام ، يجب أن يبدو الرأس وكأنه يملأ دائرة. يساهم امتلاء الخدين ، بالإضافة إلى معطف الخدين والرقبة في هذا المظهر. الجبهة عريضة ومسطحة ، مع ثلم مميز يمتد من نقطة توقف إلى أعلى الجمجمة.

الكمامة : عند النظر إليها من أعلى الرأس ، تكون الكمامة مستديرة وممتلئة وتتناقص إلى مثلث غير حاد. الشفاه مشدودة بإحكام ولها صبغة داكنة.

عيوب خطيرة: لسان مرقط.

الأسنان : تمتلك أكيتا اليابانية مجموعة كاملة من الأسنان البيضاء القوية جيدة الحجم ومتباعدة بشكل متساوٍ وتلتقي في عضة مقص.

فقدان الأهلية: لدغة تجاوزت. لدغة تحت طلقة.

الأنف : الأنف أسود. اللحم أو الصبغة بلون الكبد مقبول فقط للكلاب البيضاء.

عدم الأهلية: أنف مرقط.

العيون: العيون العميقة مثلثة الشكل صغيرة نسبيًا ومرتفعة قليلاً في الزوايا الخارجية.

لونها بني غامق ، كلما كان ذلك أفضل.

تتميز حواف العين بصبغة سميكة داكنة ، مما يعطي مظهر كحل العين تقريبًا.

عيوب خطيرة: عيون مستديرة. عيون فاتحة.

الأذنين : الأذنان العريضتان والمثلثتان مثقبتان وصغيرة الحجم إلى حد ما ، ومستديرة عند الحافة. فهي سميكة وقليلة المقعر. يتم وضع الأذنين الصحيحين بزاوية للأمام من مؤخرة العنق ، وتكون المنطقة امتدادًا لزاوية الرقبة.

فقدان الأهلية: آذان مسقطة.

الرقبة : تتميز الرقبة القصيرة والسميكة والعضلية بجلد مشدود وهي في زاوية مناسبة متوازنة مع الرأس.

خطأ جسيم: Dewlap.

أرباع

الأكتاف منحدرة بشكل معتدل إلى الأمام ، ومتطورة. العظام الكافية ضرورية.

الأرجل الأمامية : الساعدان مستقيمان ، والمرفقان مشدودان ولا يتحولان إلى الداخل أو الخارج. تميل الباسترن قليلاً ، حيث تكون درجة الحرارة 15 درجة مثالية.

الجسم: الصدر متطور. القفص الصدري ممتلئ. الثنية جيدة الإعداد.

الظهر قوي ومستوي. الخاصرة عضلية.

الأرجل الخلفية سميكة ومتطورة ، مع قبضة قوية ودفع ووقفة. الأرجل الخلفية بزاوية معتدلة. الباسترن الخلفية مستقيمة عند النظر إليها من الجانب والخلف.

العيوب الجسيمة: خنق البقر. تحولت الخنازير.

قدم: القدمين هي الجولة (القط مثل). فهي ضيقة ومفصلة جيدًا ولها قبضة قوية.

القضاء على العيوب: أقدام مسطحة مفلطحة.

الذيل : الذيل العالي السميك له جذر قوي وسميك. إنه مجعد جيدًا على الظهر ، وعندما يخذل ، يصل تقريبًا إلى العرقوب. كل تجعيد الشعر التالي مقبول: فردي ، مزدوج ، يسار ، ويمين.

القضاء على العيوب: الذيل المنجلي. ذيل غير مجعد (يتم تحديده أثناء حركة الكلب ، وليس في حالة الراحة).

المعطف : أكيتا الياباني مطلي بثلاث طبقات. الغلاف الخارجي عبارة عن معطف حماية خشن ومستقيم. الاثنان الآخران تحت المعاطف. أحدهما أكثر سمكا ونعومة إلى حد ما ، مما يعزز بشكل عام لون المعطف. والثالث هو الأقرب إلى الجلد ويكون أكثر سمكًا بشكل عام ويشبه الصوف في الملمس.

عيوب خطيرة: معطف قصير مسطح.
إزالة العيب: معطف طويل.

اللون : ألوان المعطف واضحة ومشرقة. تشمل ألوان المعطف المقبولة: أحمر ؛ الرمادي الداكن والأبيض. يتم تعريف Brindle على أنه تأثير مخطط أو مخطط أو نمط من الشعر الأسود أو الأسمر بشعر ذي لون خلفية أفتح أو أغمق.

تحتوي Brindles على الألوان الأساسية التالية: الأحمر والأسود والرمادي / الفضي والأبيض. يجب أن تحتوي جميع الألوان ، باستثناء الأبيض ، على Urajiro (كريمي فاتح أو علامات أو تظليل أبيض) على جوانب الكمامة وعلى الخدين وعلى الجانب السفلي من الفك والرقبة والجسم والذيل وداخل الساقين.

الاستبعاد: علامات بينتو. قناع أسود.

الطول: الطول المفضل للذكور من 24 إلى 27 بوصة. الطول المفضل للإناث هو من 22.5 إلى 25.5 بوصة.

المشي : نشيط ، قوي ، رشيق ، ينقل القدرة على التحمل. هم خفيفون على أقدامهم. سوف يقوم الكلب بمسار واحد مع زيادة السرعة.

القضاء على العيوب:

(لا ينبغي النظر في وضع الكلب الذي يعاني من خطأ في التصفية في حدث التشكل ، ولا يتم إبلاغ UKC به.)

  • معطف طويل.

  • الذيل المنجلي - يتم تحديده أثناء حركة الكلب ، وليس في حالة الراحة.

  • قدم مسطحة مفلطحة.

عدم الأهلية:

(يجب عدم النظر في وضع الكلب الذي تم استبعاده من الأهلية في حدث التشكل ، ويجب إبلاغ UKC به.)

  • تشفير أحادي أو ثنائي

  • الشراسة أو الخجل الشديد

  • المهق

  • لدغة تجاوزت

  • لدغة تحت طلقة

  • علامات البينتو

  • قناع أسود

  • آذان متدلية

  • أنف مرقط

JA2.PNG

breedstandard1a.jpg
JAI2.PNG

AKC Japanese Akitainu Breed Standard

A breed standard in the dog world is a set of guidelines which is used to ensure that the animals produced by a breeder conform to the specifics of the standardized breed. Breed standards are devised by breed associations or breed clubs, not by individuals, and are written to reflect the use or purpose of the species and breed of the animal.

 

Breed standards help define the ideal specimen of a breed and provide goals for breeders in improving stock. In essence a breed standard is a blueprint for an animal fit for the function it was bred - i.e. herding, guarding, tracking etc.

I was fortunate enough to be asked to contribute to an international collaborative effort to design a visual 'Quick Guide' document for judges. Breed fanciers from North America, Europe and Japan were invited to share their knowledge and offer insight into what should be prioritized for the guide.

 

I would like to personally thank Jina Choi and the Japanese Akita Club of America (JACA) for the opportunity to share our work with you. It was a great honor to be a part of this unique project which has proven to be an extremely popular idea among the dog show world.

AKC_Seal_1884_blue_wR.jpg

Breed standards are not scientific documents, and may vary from association to association, and from country to country. That is the care with the Japanese Akitainu. Depending on what part of the world you are in, breeders will adhere to various breed standards which can be found below. For example, in Japan, the Japanese Akitainu breed standard is set by AKIHO. In Europe, it is set by the FCI (Federation Cynologique Internationale) and in the USA, we have both the AKC and UKC registry breed standards. Seen as we are based in the USA, below is a breakdown of the AKC and UKC breed standards for the Japanese Akitainu along with a link to the FCI Akita breed standard. It is my job as a conformation judge to interpret the breed standard of the registry I am judging for and apply it against the examples of the breed that exhibit on the day of the show. Dog shows act as a wonderful guide for breeders to ensure they are on the right path for developing their dogs.

General Appearance: The Japanese Akitainu is the largest of the native dog breeds of Japan and was originally used for hunting game in the mountainous terrain of the Tōhoku region where Akita Prefecture is located. The Japanese Akitainu is a large, sturdily built, well balanced Spitz-type dog whose head, triple coat, and curled tail are defining physical features of this unique breed. Males and females are clearly distinguishable from each other with males possessing a more robust body structure and masculine facial features, and females, a more refined body structure and feminine facial features.

 

The moderately angulated Japanese Akitainu is exhibited naturally without trimming of whiskers, styling, or color enhancements.

 

Size, Proportion, Substance: Males 25 to 27½ inches at the withers; females 22½ to 25 inches at the withers. The preferred size is the middle of the range for each sex. Weight at preferred size is approximately 65-75 pounds for males, 55-65 pounds for females. Males have a height to length ratio of 10 to 11; females have a slightly longer body length. Bone is moderate.

 

Disqualification – Males under 25 inches; females under 22½ inches.

Head: Expression is alert, spirited, and intense. The shape of the head is a slightly rounded octagon when viewed from the front. The fullness of the cheeks, as well as the coat on the cheeks and neck, support this shape. Eyes are dark brown, deep-set, almond-shaped, relatively small, and slightly raised at the outside corners. Eye rims are thick and black. The eyes should not appear too close together or too far apart. Faults – Round eyes. Light colored irises. Light colored eye rims. Droopy or loose eye rims. Ears are wide-set, equilaterally triangular in shape, pricked, rather small in size, and somewhat rounded at the tip. The leather is thick and slightly cupped. Ears are angled forward off the back of the head and face. From the profile view, the forward tilting ears are at a 75 to 90 degree angle to a line drawn along the bridge of the muzzle.

 

Disqualification – Dropped ear or ears.

 

Skull size is moderate and in proportion to the body. The forehead is broad and flat, preferably with a distinct furrow extending from the stop to the top of the skull. Stop is moderate. Fault – Wrinkled or loose skin on the forehead. Muzzle is round, full, moderate in length with a broad base tapering towards the nose. Muzzle length is 40 percent of the total head length from occiput to nose tip. It is preferred that whiskers remain intact. Fault – Overly narrow or heavy muzzle. Lips are tight and black. Fault – Loose, saggy lips. Nose is black. For white dogs, faded black and snow noses are acceptable. Black is always preferred. Disqualification – Butterfly nose. Bite is scissors, with a full complement of strong, substantial, evenly aligned teeth. Fault – Missing teeth, unhealthy dentition. Tongue is pink. Fault – Black or spotted tongue.

 

Disqualification – Overshot or undershot bite.

Neck/Topline/Body: Neck is short, thick, arched, and is in proper angle and in balance with the head. Fault – Dewlap or loose skin on neck. Topline is straight and level to the base of the tail. Body is well muscled without the appearance of looseness or coarseness. Chest is well-developed reaching to the elbow; width is neither too narrow, nor too broad; depth measured from the withers to the lowest point of the chest is approximately 50 percent of the height of the dog at the withers. Ribs are moderately sprung. Tuck-up is tight and well-drawn. Back is strong and level. Loins are muscular.

Tail: High-set with a strong, thick root well-curled over the back. Size of curled tail should be in balance with the head. The ideal tail curl forms a nearly complete circle. When let down, the tip of the guard hairs on the tail reaches almost [HF4] to the hock or extends past. The following tail curls are acceptable: single and double curl. The tail may lay on top of the back or on either side. Fault – Short tail.

 

Disqualification – Sickle tail or uncurled tail (while dog is in motion, not at rest).

 

Forequarters: Shoulders are moderately sloped forward and nicely developed. Adequate or moderate bone is essential. Elbows are set close to the body and turn neither in nor out. Forelegs and feet are moderately spaced, straight, and parallel. Pasterns are slightly slanted with 15 degrees being ideal. Presence of front dew claws preferred, but not necessary. Feet are round, tight, well-knuckled, and have a firm grip, often described as cat-like. Individual toes are similar in length. The nails should be short and strong. Pads are thick. Fault – Flat or splayed feet.

 

Hindquarters: Angulation of the hindquarters is moderate. Hind legs are thick and well developed, with a powerful grip, thrust. and stance. Upper thighs are well developed. The hocks are straight when viewed from the side and rear. Feet as in forequarters. Fault – Cow or bow hocks.

 

Coat: Triple coated with the outer coat consisting of coarse, straight guard hairs that stand off the body. The two inner coats are under coats. One is thicker and somewhat soft, generally matching the coat color. The second is closest to the skin and is generally thicker and wool-like in texture and can be a different color than the guard coat. Tail guard hairs are much longer and fuller. The Japanese Akitainu should be presented in a natural state without trimming or shaping. Fault – Short, flat coat. Disqualification – Long coat.

 

Color: Coat color is as specified herein, with the three allowed colors given equal consideration – red, brindle (of varying colors) and white. All colors are rich, clear, and bright. Red and brindle coats must possess urajiro (light cream or white underside shading).

 

For reds, the color should be vivid and robust. The white on the face should not be excessive. Omotejiro is the white or cream shading found on the sides of the muzzle and cheeks. Urajiro may appear on the underside of the jaw, neck, abdomen and tail, and on the inside of the legs; the red on the legs will fade in gradient to the white. A white-tipped tail is preferred. Serious Fault – Black saddle.

For brindles, the pattern is defined as clearly marked dark fine streaks or stripes laid over a lighter background color. A brindle coat is identified as red brindle (of varying shades), black brindle, or a subtype called Shimofuri (grey/silver). Brindles may be self-masked or possess a white blaze that extends up the muzzle. The preferred brindle possesses roppaku (six points of white markings) which may be of varying degrees, on the muzzle, four paws, and tip of the tail. Urajiro for brindles may appear on the underside of the jaw, neck, abdomen, tail, and on the inside of the legs.

 

For reds and brindles – Faults – White blaze that extends from the muzzle to the back of the head (hachiware). Excessive ticking on legs or muzzle. Serious Fault – Wide white collar marking extending completely around the neck.

 

Disqualification - Pinto markings. Hachiware blaze that connects to a complete white collar.

 

For whites, color should be as bright as possible. Fault – Biscuit coloring on the ears, rear legs, back, shoulders and tail on a white dog. Disqualification for all colors– Albinism. Black mask.

 

Gait: Conveys stamina through brisk, powerful, and agile movement. Dogs of this breed take efficient strides, with moderate reach and drive as the back remains level.

Temperament: The Japanese Akitainu is an alert, independent, dignified, and self-confident breed. They are loyal and protective of their family members. They can be reserved and aloof around non-family members, especially strangers, and some may be intolerant of other dogs, particularly dogs of the same sex. The Japanese Akitainu’s outward appearance reflects its inner spirit of calm, quiet strength, and courage. Disqualification – Extreme shyness or aggressiveness.

 

Summary: The most important breed characteristics of the Japanese Akitainu are: proper head, triple coat, curled tail, moderate angulation, moderate bone, well-balanced proportions, and confident disposition. Any appearance of excessive or inadequate bone or weight that would hinder the original breed function for mountain hunting should be penalized. Form, color, movement, and temperament must all be in harmony.

 

Disqualifications: Males under 25 inches; Females under 22½ inches. Dropped ear or ears. Butterfly nose. Overshot or undershot bite. Sickle tail or uncurled tail (when in motion). Long coat. For reds and brindles - Pinto markings, Hachiware blaze that connects to a complete white collar. For all colors – Albinism, Black mask. Extreme shyness or aggressiveness.

UKC Japanese Akita Breed Standard

General Appearance: A large, well-balanced, sturdily built dog of the Spitz type.

 

Males and females are clearly distinguishable from each other.

 

The ratio of length (from the point of the shoulder to the point of the buttocks) is slightly greater than the height (measured at the withers). Females are slightly longer; with males being more square.

 

Disqualifications: Unilateral or bilateral cryptorchid. Viciousness or extreme shyness.

 

Serious Faults: Overall poor condition. Loose skin.

download.png
JA.PNG

Characteristics: The Japanese Akita is known as a dignified, quick and agile breed. Overall balance is very important.

 

 

The striking coat color, coat color patterns, angled ears, eye shape and deep coloration of irises define the exotic look of this breed.

The Japanese Akita, is independent, smart and docile. It is also reserved, especially around strangers, which can give the impression of aloofness. They are loyal and highly protective of its family members.

unnamed.png

Head: The head is proportionate to the body. Skin is tight and not wrinkled. When viewed from the front, the head must look as though it would fill a circle. The fullness of the cheeks, as well as the coat on the cheeks and neck, contribute to this look. The forehead is broad and flat, with a distinct furrow extending from the stop to the top of the skull.

 

Muzzle: When viewed from the top of the head, the muzzle is round and full, tapering to a blunt triangle. The lips are tightly drawn and have dark pigment.

Serious Faults: Spotted tongue.

 

Teeth: The Japanese Akita has a complete set of good-sized, evenly spaced, strong white teeth meeting in a scissors bite.

 

Disqualifications: Overshot bite. Undershot bite.

 

Nose: The nose is black. Flesh or liver-colored pigment is acceptable only on white dogs.

Disqualification: Speckled nose.

 

Eyes: The deep-set, triangular shaped eyes are relatively small and slightly raised at the outside corners.

They are dark brown in color, the darker the better.

Eye rims have thick, dark pigment, almost giving the appearance of eyeliner.

Serious Faults: Round eyes. Light eyes.

 

Ears: The wide-set, triangular ears are pricked and rather small in size, and rounded at the tip. They are thick and slightly cupped. Correct ears are angulated forward off the back of the neck, and area an extension of the angle of the neck.

 

Disqualification: Dropped ears.

 

Neck: The short, thick, muscular neck has a tight skin, and is in proper angle in balance with the head.

Serious Fault: Dewlap.

Forequarters

The shoulders are very moderately sloped forward, and developed. Adequate bone is essential.

 

Forelegs: Forearms are straight, Elbows are tight, turning neither in nor out. Pasterns are slightly slanted, with 15 degrees being the ideal.

 

Body: The chest is well-developed. The rib cage is full. The tuck-up is well-drawn up.

The back is strong and level. The loin is muscular.

The hind legs are thick and well-developed, with a powerful grip, thrust and stance. The back legs are moderately angulated. The rear pasterns are straight when viewed from the side and rear.

 

Serious Faults: Cow hocks. Hocks turned out.

 

Feet: The feet are round (cat-like). They are tight, well-knuckled, and have a firm grip.

Eliminating Faults: Flat, splayed feet.

 

 

Tail: The high-set, thick tail has a strong, thick root. It is well-curled over the back, When let down, it reaches almost to the hock. All of the following tail curls are acceptable: single, double, left, and right.

Eliminating Faults: Sickle tail. Uncurled tail (determined while the dog is in motion, not at rest).

 

Coat: The Japanese Akita is triple coated. The outer coat is a coarse, straight guard coat. The other two are under coats. One is thicker and somewhat soft, generally enhancing the coat color. The third is closest to the skin and is generally thicker and wool-like in texture.

 

Serious Faults: Short, flat coat.
Eliminating Fault: Long coat.

 

Color: Coat colors are clear and bright. Acceptable coat colors include: red; brindle, and white. Brindle is defined as a fine streaked or striped effect or pattern of black or tan hairs with hairs of a lighter or darker background color.

 

Brindles have the following basic colors in them: red, black, gray/silver, and white. All colors, except white, must have Urajiro (light cream or white markings or shading) on the sides of the muzzle, on the cheeks, on the underside of the jaw, neck, body and tail, and on the inside of the legs.

 

Disqualifications: Pinto markings. Black mask.

 

Height: Preferred height for males is from 24 to 27 inches. Preferred height for females is from 22.5 to 25.5 inches.

 

Gait: Brisk, powerful and agile, conveying stamina. They are light on their feet. The dog will single track as speed increases.

 

Eliminating Faults:

(A dog with an Eliminating Fault is not to be considered for placement in a conformation event, nor are they to be reported to UKC.)

 

  • Long coat.

  • Sickle taildetermined while the dog is in motion, not at rest. 

  • Flat, splayed feet.

 

Disqualifications:

 

(A dog with a Disqualification must not be considered for placement in a conformation event, and must be reported to UKC.)

 

  • Unilateral or bilateral cryptorchid

  • Viciousness or extreme shyness

  • Albinism

  • Overshot bite

  • Undershot bite

  • Pinto markings

  • Black mask

  • Dropped ears

  • Speckled nose

JA2.PNG